States and Capitals

States and Capitals of India :

India, located in South Asia, ranks as the 7th largest country globally by land area. Each state and union territory has its capital city, further divided into districts for administrative purposes. New Delhi, within the National Capital Territory of Delhi, serves as the central hub for administrative, political, and cultural activities in India.

India’s diversity is evident through its states and capitals, showcasing a blend of culture, traditions, and technological progress. Exploring these regions unveils a journey blending ancient legacies with modern innovations, bridging the gap between tradition and contemporary lifestyles. This journey vividly exemplifies India’s unity amidst its diverse fabric, showcasing a harmonious blend of cultural richness and technological advancements.

The 1956 reorganization of states, based on linguistic lines, formed India’s current structure of 28 states and 8 union territories. This restructuring was crucial in accommodating linguistic and cultural diversity within the nation. India currently has 400 cities, with eight major metropolitan hubs: Kolkata, Mumbai, New Delhi, Chennai, Hyderabad, Bangalore, Ahmedabad, and Pune. This diverse urban landscape reflects the nation’s dynamic growth and highlights its economic and cultural vitality.

The Prime Minister’s ambitious plan to develop 100 smart cities nationwide underscores India’s commitment to modernization and sustainable urban growth. Notably, Indore has been recognized as a Smart City for four consecutive years, reflecting the success and potential of such initiatives in enhancing urban living standards across the country.

Capitals of States

S.NO State Capital
1 Andhra Pradesh Amaravati
2 Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
3 Assam Dispur
4 Bihar Patna
5 Chhattisgarh Raipur
6 Goa Panaji
7 Gujarat Gandhinagar
8 Haryana Chandigarh
9 Himachal Pradesh Shimla
10 Jharkhand Ranchi
11 Karnataka Bengaluru
12 Kerala Thiruvananthapuram
13 Madhya Pradesh Bhopal
14 Maharashtra Mumbai
15 Manipur Imphal
16 Meghalaya Shillong
17 Mizoram Aizawl
18 Nagaland Kohima
19 Odisha Bhubaneswar
20 Punjab Chandigarh
21 Rajasthan Jaipur
22 Sikkim Gangtok
23 Tamil Nadu Chennai
24 Telangana Hyderabad
25 Tripura Agartala
26 Uttar Pradesh Lucknow
27 Uttarakhand Dehradun
28 West Bengal Kolkata

Capitals of Union Territories

S.NO Union Territories Capital
1 Andaman and Nicobar Island Port Blair
2 Chandigarh Chandigarh
3 Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Daman
4 Delhi Delhi
5 Ladakh NA
6 Lakshadweep Kavaratti
7 Jammu and Kashmir NA
8 Puducherry Pondicherry

Click Here for the Previous Year’s APSC Question Paper

Moreover, your support has been invaluable to us. We are grateful for your continued support…

Follow us on

Our official Facebook Page

Our Official Instagram ID

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel  

Share this


  1. Hi… I like all your content.. keep it up

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *